I Want To

Junior Council sworn in at Regular Council Meeting

During the Regular Meeting of Council on December 3, 2019, the newly elected Junior Council was sworn in by Leslie Groulx, Chief Administrative Officer.

Junior Council consists of high school students that are elected by the student body.  This group will meet on a regular basis, attend the Regular Meeting of Council, plan activities for the youth and bridge the gap between younger people and the municipality.

The District of Clearwater was the first municipality in BC to enact a Junior Council, this was initiated in 2009. Members of Junior Council have attended Union of BC Municipalities annual conference where they have presented to both the Premier and Ministers about youth related issues. Other communities have been inspired by this idea and have also established a Junior Council.

Congratulations to (right to left) Dallas Tucker (Vice president), Josie Cooperman (President), Emma Collins (Secretary), Juniper Wadlegger (Treasurer), Claire Meyer, Noelle Muddiman, Hanna MacDonald and Luke Lavigne. We are looking forward to a year of great collaboration and advocacy for our youth.