I Want To

Council Members Sworn in During Nov. 1 Inaugural Meeting

Nov. 8, 2022

Clearwater, BC – The District of Clearwater’s returning and new council members were sworn in during a special inaugural meeting held Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2022, at the Dutch Lake Community Centre.

District staff and special guests were present to witness the inauguration ceremony and welcomed back incumbent Councillors Shelley Sim, Lyle Mackenzie, Lynne Frizzle and Bill Haring as well as Mayor Merlin Blackwell. Councillors Theresa Braaten and Ken Matheson were both elected to office for the first time. Council members are excited about the opportunities and challenges that lie ahead.

“I look forward to working with this great bunch of community-minded folks,” said Mayor Merlin Blackwell. “Such a strong voter turnout definitely gives us a mandate to serve Clearwater over the next four years. Thanks to all who came out to vote, and to all those who put their names forward to run.”

The District of Clearwater would like to thank former council members Barry Banford, a councillor since 2011, and Lucy Taylor, elected in 2018, for their service to the District and its residents.


For more information, contact:
John Thomas, Chief Administrative Officer
(250) 674-2257