I Want To

2022 Municipal Election

General Local Election October 15, 2022

On Saturday, October 15, 2022 British Columbians will elect Mayors, Councilors, Regional District Directors and School Board Trustees.
The District of Clearwater elects one Mayor and six Councilors to serve a four year term (2022-2026).

Key Dates:

A list of important dates for the General Local Election is available here.

Resident Voter Eligibility:

  • Be 18 years of age or older before registering to vote;
  • Be a Canadian citizen;
  • Have been a resident of B. C. for at least six months before registering to vote;
  • Not be disqualified under the Local Government Act, or any other enactment, or by law from voting in a local election

Non-Resident Property Owner:

  • If a person owns a property with one or more other individuals, only one person is eligible to vote as the non-resident property elector for that property. The owner entitled to vote must be designated, in writing, by the majority of the property owners. Click here for a copy of a Non-Resident Property Elector Consent Form
  • In addition to the consent form and 2 pieces of identification, non-resident property electors must also bring proof of ownership of property (such as property tax notice, assessment notice or certificate of title) and a non-resident property elector registration form.

Campaign Financing and Elections BC:

Elections BC is responsible for administering campaign financing and election advertising rules under the Local Elections Campaign Financing Act (LECFA). This responsibility includes managing campaign financing disclosure requirements, conducting investigations, and enforcing the campaign financing and third party advertising provisions set out in LECFA

Important information on campaign financing and advertising rules can be found here.

Elections BC: https://elections.bc.ca/local-elections/forms-and-guides/local-forms/

Nomination Packages:

For candidates running for Mayor or Council, nomination packages will be available for pickup at the Municipal Hall at 209 Dutch Lake Rd or downloadable from this page in August 2022.


District of Clearwater Election Officials
Chief Election Officer Michael Penny Deputy Chief Election Officer Andrea Lever
Contact: elections@docbc.ca | 250-674-2257